Sqlite3 gem error during Bundle Install

System:
Ubuntu 10.04LTS
Rails 3
Ruby 1.9.2

I grabbed an app I was working on and moved to my ubuntu box. As soon as I tried to run rails server it screamed that sqlite was not installed (as specified in my database.yml) file.

First I ran bundle install and got

Installing sqlite3-ruby (1.3.2) with native extensions /home/myserver/.rvm/rubies/ruby-1.9.2-p0/lib/ruby/1.9.1/rubygems/installer.rb:483:in `rescue in block in build_extensions': ERROR: Failed to build gem native extension. (Gem::Installer::ExtensionBuildError)

I poked around the system and installed the following packages using synaptic:

sqlite3
libsqlite3-dev

Grab any dependencies that come along with those packages. Still, no dice!

I googled a bit and came across:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/421225/why-cant-i-install-the-sqlite-gem

And decided to hunt down then install:
libsqlite-ruby1.9.1

After installing I went back to my app and ran bundle install and it worked!

2 thoughts on “Sqlite3 gem error during Bundle Install

  1. taerimmk says:

    wow problem is solved!!
    thanx a lot this post~

  2. RideRails says:

    Awesome! Glad to help!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

